Eira Francis Davies Scholarship, Swansea University, UK

Female students ordinarily resident in a developing country* who are admitted to pursue an undergraduate or a Taught Master’s postgraduate course at Swansea University shall be eligible to apply for the Eira Francis Davies Scholarship.

The Eira Francis Davies Scholarship, which shall be awarded from time to time by the Senate on the basis of academic merit and/or financial need and which shall contribute to tuition fees, shall be tenable for such period as determined by the Senate and shall be subject to satisfactory academic progress and to such other terms and conditions as the University shall stipulate.

It is a condition of the award of the Eira Francis Davies Scholarship that the student agrees to return to her country for work or study upon completion of degree studies at Swansea University.


  • Candidates must be new, full-time, degree seeking, non-EU applicants
  • Candidates must have completed an application to study and accepted the offer of a place at Swansea University
  • Candidates must show strong academic ability and financial need
  • Candidates should not be eligible for other financial support from Swansea University e.g. tuition fee reductions through collaborative links or bursaries
  • Please note that students progressing from ICWS are not eligible to apply for an International Scholarship

Terms and Conditions

  1. Applicants must be from the designated list of non-EU countries to be eligible.
  2. Employees of Swansea University will not be eligible to apply.
  3. Scholarships will be used to offset tuition fees for the duration of the degree or course subject to satisfactory academic progression.
  4. Awards are available for all undergraduate degree courses, Taught Master’s degrees, including the MBA, the full Legal Practice Course (taught entirely at Swansea University) and the Graduate Diploma in Law. Research courses are not eligible (MRes, MPhil, PhD, EngD).
  5. For undergraduate courses, applicants are expected to achieve 3 A grades at A-Level or equivalent (excluding General Studies) and 5 A or A* grades at GCSE level or equivalent. For Postgraduate Taught courses, applicants should have a First Class Bachelors degree (or equivalent). In the case of all applicants, their English language ability must meet any stipulated condition of offer and UKBA requirements.
  6. Applicants must be enrolling on an eligible course at Swansea University for the first time in September 2012.
  7. Applicants must have completed an application for a place to study at Swansea University, and have received and accepted an offer of a place.
  8. Applicants should be privately funded. This award cannot be taken in conjunction with any other scholarship or bursary awarded either internally or externally.
  9. Applicants are not eligible to hold other Swansea University awards such as bursaries, or home country sponsorship.
  10. Awards are available for full-time study only.
  11. The closing date for the receipt of completed scholarship applications is 1st May 2012.
  12. Successful applicants will be informed by 1st September 2012 and a reduced tuition fee will be levied at enrolment.
  13. Awards are non-transferable.
  14. The International Scholarship Committee may use whatever means of assessment it thinks most appropriate in order to determine which candidates are worthy of recommendation for the award of a scholarship.
  15. Having accepted an award, a scholarship holder may not withdraw from the course save in exceptional circumstances and subject to the approval of the relevant Headof College. Failure to observe this regulation may render the student liable to repay to the University any award which has been made either in whole or in part as determined by the International Scholarship Committee. If it is deemed necessary for a Scholarship holder to suspend their studies, the scholarship will be held on university account and carried forward to the year of resumption of studies and the candidate will be expected to pay their personal contribution on a pro-rata basis. If in the view of the appropriate Head of College, a Scholarship holder’s progress is deemed to be unsatisfactory, the Scholarship may be withdrawn. A Scholarship may also be withdrawn on grounds of failure to comply with any of the conditions attached to the Award. The candidate may be required to repay to the University any award which has been made, either in whole or in part, as determined by the Committee. If the scholar feels that such a withdrawal is unjustified s/he may appeal in writing to the Head of the International Development Office within 15 working days of the date of notification.
  16. The International Development Office reserves the right to make, amend, withdraw, suspend or cancel without notice these and such other Regulations as may be in force from time to time and such decisions shall be final. We believe the terms of the Scholarship complies with current legislation and reserve the right to make amendments to it to ensure that it does.
  17. Scholarship holders, having accepted an award, are reasonably expected to co-operate in Swansea University recruitment activities and automatically agree to their names and details being released by the University’s International Development Office and Marketing Department for marketing purposes.
Baca Juga:   Edinburgh Global Undergraduate Scholarships, University of Edinburgh, UK

Application forms to be returned to the Alumni Office at [email protected]

Eligible Countries
(Source: World Bank classification of low income and low middle income countries)

  • Afghanistan
  • Gambia, The
  • Myanmar
  • Bangladesh
  • Guinea
  • Nepal
  • Benin
  • Guinea-Bisau
  • Niger
  • Burkina Faso
  • Haiti
  • Rwanda
  • Burundi
  • Kenya
  • Sierra Leone
  • Cambodia
  • Korea, Dem Rep.
  • Somalia
  • Central African Republic
  • Kyrgyz Republic
  • Tajikistan
  • Chad
  • Liberia
  • Tanzania
  • Comoros
  • Madagascar
  • Togo
  • Congo, Dem. Rep
  • Malawi
  • Uganda
  • Eritrea
  • Mali
  • Zimbabwe
  • Ethiopia
  • Mozambique
  • Angola
  • India
  • São Tomé and Principe
  • Armenia
  • Iraq
  • Senegal
  • Belize
  • Kiribati
  • Solomon Islands
  • Bhutan
  • Kosovo
  • Sri Lanka
  • Bolivia
  • Lao PDR
  • Sudan
  • Cameroon
  • Lesotho
  • Swaziland
  • Cape Verde
  • Marshall Islands
  • Syrian Arab Republic
  • Congo, Rep.
  • Mauritania
  • Timor-Leste
  • Côte d’Ivoire
  • Micronesia, Fed. Sts.
  • Tonga
  • Djibouti
  • Moldova
  • Turkmenistan
  • Egypt, Arab Rep.
  • Mongolia
  • Tuvalu
  • El Salvador
  • Morocco
  • Ukraine
  • Fiji
  • Nicaragua
  • Uzbekistan
  • Georgia
  • Nigeria
  • Vanuatu
  • Ghana
  • Pakistan
  • Vietnam
  • Guatemala
  • Papua New Guinea
  • West Bank and Gaza
  • Guyana
  • Paraguay
  • Yemen, Rep.
  • Honduras
  • Philippines
  • Zambia
  • Indonesia
  • Samoa


Berikan Komentar Anda