AJHA Margaret A Blanchard Doctoral Dissertation Prize, Northwestern University, USA

The AJHA Margaret A Blanchard Doctoral Dissertation Prize, given for the first time in 1997, is awarded annually for the best doctoral dissertation dealing with mass communication history. An honorarium of $500 accompanies the prize, and a $200 honorarium is awarded to each honorable mention.

Eligible works shall include both quantitative and qualitative historical dissertations, written in English, which have been completed between January 1, 2010, and December 31, 2010. For the purposes of this award, a “completed” work is defined as one which has not only been submitted and defended but also revised and filed in final form at the applicable doctoral-degree-granting university by December 31, 2009.

Baca Juga:   [Germany] Postdoctoral Position in Quantitative Finance at Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg

To be considered, nomination packets must include:
(a) One copy of the complete dissertation;
(b) Four copies each of the following items, with all author, school, and dissertation committee identification of any kind whited-out:
(i.) a single chapter from the dissertation [preferably not to exceed 50 manuscript pages, not including notes, charts or photographs],
(ii.) a 200-word dissertation abstract,
(iii.) the dissertation table of contents;
(c) a letter of nomination from the dissertation chair/director or the chair of the university department in which the dissertation was written;
(d) a cover letter from the nominee indicating a willingness, should the dissertation be selected for a prize, both to attend the awarding ceremony and to deliver a public presentation based on the dissertation at the 2011 American Journalism Historians Association Annual Convention, 5-8 October 2011 in Kansas City, MO.

Baca Juga:   Master and Doctoral Research Assistant Scholarship Programme in Computer Sciences at University of Indonesia

Note: Regarding Paragraph (b.)(i.) above, as a guide to selecting a chapter for submission, the Award Committee has in the past expressed a preference for a chapter which, if possible, highlights the work’s strengths as a piece of primary-sourced original research.

Nominations, along with all the supporting materials, should be sent to:

Prof. David Abrahamson, Chair
AJHA Margaret A. Blanchard Doctoral Dissertation Prize Committee
Medill School of Journalism
Northwestern University
1845 Sheridan Road
Evanston, IL 60208.

The deadline for entries is a postmark date of February 1, 2011.

Visit official website.


Berikan Komentar Anda